Rayrun
← Back to Discord Forum

Page Object Model and multiple locators with similar names

I have the following ILocators on my POM and wondering if I should be trying to do something smarter to avoid repetition, or if this is acceptable? I would then have 12 methods to click each check box. I am new to Playwright and coding so apologies if this is a stupid question.

private ILocator _chkNmt01 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 01" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt02 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 02" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt03 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 03" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt04 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 04" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt05 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 05" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt06 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 06" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt07 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 07" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt08 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 08" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt09 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 09" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt10 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 10" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt11 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 11" });
    private ILocator _chkNmt12 => _reportPage.Locator("label").Filter(new() { HasText = "NMT 12" });

public async Task ClickMnt01()
    {
        await _chkNmt01.IsVisibleAsync();
        await _chkNmt01.ClickAsync();
    }

etc....

This thread is trying to answer question "Is there a smarter way to handle multiple locators with similar names in the Page Object Model to avoid repetition?"

7 replies