Rayrun
โ† Back to Discord Forum

Driver not found : path\bin\.playwright\node\win32_x64\playwright.cmd

I am new to playwright and followed all step of installation from official doc. Whenever I run test I get error Driver not found : path\bin.playwright\node\win32_x64\playwright.cmd.

I am using .net6.0 so the folder path ideally should be path\bin\Debug.net6.0.playwright\node\win32_x64\playwright.cmd.

I am confused from where the path is set. And ideally the test should pick the driver path automatically and run.

Can someone help me with this.

This thread is trying to answer question "How can the issue of the driver not being found at the expected path in Playwright be resolved, and how can the need to run a command before every debug run be avoided?"

6 replies

How do you install playwright? generally you only need to run the powershell install pwsh bin/Debug/netX/playwright.ps1 install or the manual steps dotnet tool install --global Microsoft.Playwright.CLI playwright install

shoaib2046
shoaib2046

Yes, but that does not give solutions, every time before debugging through visual studio 2022 you need to run command separately of dotnet build, pwsh bin/debug/netx/playwright.ps1 install.

The installation should happen only once. Currently before every debug you need to run the above command then debug.

You include a reference via nugget package? Been a while since doing C# && PW, but thought i needed nugget && the CLI, some reason i'm remembering there was a pwsh needed to install the browsers... Was fine after all that.

As a side note i much prefer C#, but the functionality provided in the javashit script helps a lot more then doing all in C#, not that you can't you simply will miss out on a lot of great features... And a lot of the stuff you'll need to implement as PW provides a lot in the JS flavor...

shoaib2046
shoaib2046

Thanks for the details ๐Ÿ˜Š.

In future will surely explore PW with javascript.