Rayrun
โ† Back to Discord Forum

Images and toHaveScreenshot best practice

Hi!

I'm just getting started with Playwright, and I figured I'd try to set up an e2e test stack mostly based on visual comparisons. I'm not sure if this is a good idea, but I have very good experience using a snapshot based e2e testing approach while working with pure backend.

One issue I'm running into is that the app has quite a bit of images loaded from external sources. It seems quite a bit of the time, the screenshot is taken before the images finish loading. Is there a recommended way to deal with this?

This thread is trying to answer question "What is the recommended way to deal with screenshots being taken before images finish loading in Playwright?"

17 replies
@.petob: Hey, if you want to wait for the images to finish loading you can increase the timeout for the toHaveScreenshot function https://playwright.dev/docs/api/class-pageassertions#page-assertions-to-have-screenshot-2-option-timeout If on the other hand you do not want to wait for all the images to finish loading you might be interested in masking the images with https://playwright.dev/docs/api/class-pageassertions#page-assertions-to-have-screenshot-2-option-mask using a locator for your images that should not be included in the comparison because they have not been fully loaded. However, this would require that the rest of your page looks the same if the pictures are not finished loading

Hey, if you want to wait for the images to finish loading you can increase the timeout for the toHaveScreenshot function https://playwright.dev/docs/api/class-pageassertions#page-assertions-to-have-screenshot-2-option-timeout