Rayrun
← Back to Discord Forum

dockerizing playwright project

I’m in the process of dockerizing my playwright project. I’m a little confused as I’m new to docker. If anyone can provide insight it would be appreciated.

I’m a little hazy about copying my files. How would you copy your playwright.config file if you have to install playwright ? Would it get overwritten ?

I’m using the node playwright image as a starting point, setting my working directory and then copying all the files needed. I’m assuming I’d want to run my package.json file after that with npm install.

Then I’m a little lost after that point. I was reading the lamda test docs earlier for references

This thread is trying to answer question "How to dockerize a Playwright project and resolve issues encountered during the process?"

13 replies

“` FROM node:16

offical node playwright image

FROM mcr.microsoft.com/playwright:v1.34.0-jammy

WORKDIR /app/

COPY node_modules /app/

COPY tests /app/

COPY test-documents/ /app/

COPY .env/ /app/

COPY config.ts/ /app/

COPY global.d.ts/ /app/

COPY package.json/ /app/

COPY UploadedDocs/ /app/

RUN apt-get update && apt-get -y install libnss3 libatk-bridge2.0-0 libdrm-dev libxkbcommon-dev libgbm-dev libasound-dev libatspi2.0-0 libxshmfence-dev

RUN npm install

“`

This is my Dockerfile

Whoops sorry for formatting , I’m on mobile 😅

leblancmeneses

https://playwright.dev/docs/docker

docker run -it --rm -v "$(pwd)/":'/app'  --ipc=host mcr.microsoft.com/playwright:v1.35.0-jammy /bin/bash
cd /app
npx playwright test my-test-for-google-com.spec.ts

so the benefit here is all the tools for video recording, chrome, are all pre installed in the image. The docs show how to integrate to various ci systems using a manual approach and using the image approach. When I first start reviewing a project I always look for the docker image so I can pre test before committing.